bicameral parliament is the supreme legislative body of the state, is responsible for the initiation, development and adoption of laws, as well as changes and additions to the already existing regulations should the need arise.

upper house of parliament in Russia

In Russia, as in many developed countries, there are simultaneously two chambers of parliament, which are called the lower and upper.In accordance with these code names and made division of the functions of these authorities.Thus, the lower house mainly engaged in the initiation and development of the bill, and the top - of their coordination and approval.Meetings of the upper chamber of the
Russian parliament is usually held at least twice a month, but if necessary can be collected and more.

upper chamber of the Russian Federation is called the Federation Council.This difference between the Federation Council and the lower house of parliament is not limited to the difference in their functions.In addition, they also differ in the way of forming.As its name implies, the Federation Council is intended to provide the subjects of the Federation to represent their interests.This capability is achieved through the inclusion of the Federation Council of two representatives from each region of Russia.

Thus, the total number of members of this structure is 170 people, as the number of subjects of the Russian Federation to date has reached 85. Due to the nature of its composition, the Federation Council is sometimes informally referred to as the Chamber of Regions, but in all legal acts in force in the territoryour country, using the official name of the body.

lower house of parliament in Russia

lower house of parliament of the Russian Federation, the main function of which is the development of draft laws and submit them to the court of the Federation Council, is known as the State Duma, which is often enough to reduce the option "Duma."In addition to its functions, it is different from the way the Federation Council of its formation.

Since the State Duma is intended to represent the interests of all its citizens, its formation is carried out by the national elections, which are held once every 5 years.In total, members of the lower house of parliament in an election are 450 deputies.At the same time, under the provisions of the current legislation, the same person can not simultaneously be a member of the State Duma and the Federation Council.