in the Russian Federation consists of 85 equal subjects.Among these 46 regions, 22 republics, 9 territories, 4 autonomous districts, 3 cities of federal significance, 1 autonomous region.Subjects have their own legislation, the approval of the regional parliament.The subjects have no right to voluntarily withdraw from the Russian Federation.
area are the most numerous territorial units of a higher level.The status field is defined by the Constitution and provincial statutes.Edge as a subject of the Russian Federation has the same legal status as the region.In the early 2000s, we made changes in the federal structure of the Russian Federation, which results in the areas of consolidation and transform them into the province.Thus, the Perm region was formed by the merger of Perm Region and Komi-Perm Autonomous District.Kamchatka region - as a
result of the merger of the Kamchatka Region and the Koryak Autonomous Okrug.Trans-Baikal region - the merger of the Chita region with Agin-Buryat Autonomous District.Irkutsk region, combined with the Ust-Orda Buryat Autonomous Okrug, has retained its name.At this point in the RF area 46 and nine edges.
Republic, in contrast to the provinces and territories, have the right to make their own constitution and establish their own state languages.Republic is a form of statehood of the peoples of Russia.As part of the republic of the Russian Federation 22.
Autonomous regions are formed on the national territorial basis.Has its own laws and territory.They can independently participate in international relations.As an independent territorial units, at the same time they are part of other subjects, regions or edges.As a part of the Russian Federation 4 autonomous regions: Nenets, Khanty-Mansiysk, Chukotka and Yamalo-Nenets.
status of cities of federal significance are three cities: Moscow, St. Petersburg and Sevastopol.Have its charter and legislation.Cities federal appointments are not municipalities, municipalities are included in their composition.
in the Russian Federation is one autonomous region - Jewish Autonomous Region.As autonomous regions, autonomous region is a part of another subject - the Khabarovsk Territory.It has the right to legislate within the limits of competence.