According to Article 5 of the Constitution of the Russian Federation, Russia is of equal subjects of the Russian Federation or regions.The subjects have no right to withdraw from the country and have equal rights in relations with federal authorities of the country.In the Russian Federation consists of republics, territories, regions, federal cities, autonomous region and autonomous areas.
Republic Sakha (Yakutia) is the largest territory of all regions of the country, its size is 3,083,500 km2 and includes 34 municipalities and two urban districts.The smallest area among the republics equal to 3,600 km2, covers Ingushetia.According to the 2010 population of the Republic of Bashkortostan with the administrative center of Ufa is 4,072,100 people, while the
number of inhabitants of the Altai Republic has 206,200 people.
9 edges
Krasnodar region is the most populous edge, the number of inhabitants which is 5,225,800 people in the territorial 75 500 km2.At the time, as only half of the population is located on the largest Krasnoyarsk Territory, equal to 2,366,600 km2.
46 areas
Moscow region, is the second most numerous regions in the country in terms of population, after the capital Moscow.The population of the region is 7,092,900 people, with the Moscow region has a size of 45 800 km2, which is less than the Kemerovo region twice, and Tyumen - in 32. In second place in terms of population among the regions is the Sverdlovsk region, and the third -Rostov.
3 federal city
Moscow is a city of federal significance.The population of the capital is 11,514,300 people, which is almost two times less than in St. Petersburg.Sevastopol, as a separate region, is the third city of federal significance.
1 autonomous region of Birobidzhan
is the administrative center of the Jewish Autonomous Region.Its area is 36 300 km, and the number of population is 176 600 people.
4 autonomous regions
Khanty-Mansi Autonomous District contains the largest number of people - 1.532 million people, and the Yamalo-Nentsky Autonomous Region has the largest territory - 769 300 km2.Chukotka and Nenets Autonomous District are also among the individual regions of the Russian Federation.