In a country where the separation of powers provided by Parliament - is one of the branches of government.Number three: the legislative, executive and judicial.Parliament is the legislative branch, because only its representatives have the right to put forward in the debate and make laws.Parliament - this representative body, that is, members of parliament represent the people of the country, its people, expressing their will and interests.Moreover, the Parliament, in contrast to the local authorities, do not represent the interests of some part of the population, for example, region or city, and the will of the whole nation.
As the national legislature, the Parliament decides not to private an
d minor issues and actively involved in major issues of society, enshrined in law the global changes in the country.Parliament not only brings to the debate and pass laws and amendments thereto, and adopt the state budget, oversees its means, sets the amount of taxes, sets deadlines and rules of election of the highest officials of the state, such as the president, the government, the rules approved by the Minister and the PrimeMinister, the election of judges.
special role of the parliament can be noted in the appointment of the incumbent president's impeachment, censure the government, the purpose of the amnesty, the holding of international agreements, declarations of war, peace.
majority of the parliaments of the world is divided into two chambers - the upper and lower.The laws of modern democracy require that at least one of the Houses of Parliament was elective, that is, there are representatives who have chosen the population in different regions.Members of the lower house of parliament called deputies, members of the upper - Senators.
In the Russian Federation parliament called Federal Assembly consists of two chambers.The Federation Council - the upper chamber of this Parliament, the State Duma - the lower house of parliament.The Federation Council is composed of 170 appointed senators (two from each subject of the federation), while the State Duma - of the 450 elected MPs.
meaning of separation of the two chambers of parliament to make laws in several stages.First, the bills are put forward and discussed by the lower house of parliament, sometimes walking for a few readings this.If the law is adopted by the lower house of parliament, he often has to pass approval in the upper house, only then the law can be considered as adopted and entered into force.The upper house of parliament has the right to interfere in the legislative process only if the bill makes changes to the constitution.